Erasmus+ programme is an European Union education and training  programme which aims to increase the quality of higher education in Europe. For this purpose, the Programme promotes the co-operations between higher education institutions in Europe. These partnerships and mobility activities are financially supported by the Programme.

Besides HEI co-operations, Erasmus+ programme promotes the cooperation between HEIs and labour market so that universities would meet the need of labour market and graduates would have better employability opportunities.

The European Commission is responsible for the overall implementation of Erasmus+ Programme. Actions are managed by national agencies in the 31 participating countries or by Executive Agency for Education, Audiovisual and Culture based in Brussels.

Actions under Erasmus Programme run by Turkish National Agency are:

  • Mobility Activities
    • Student Mobility (SM)
      • Student Mobility for Studies (SMS) 
      • Student Mobility for Placements (SMP) 
    • Staff Mobility (ST)
      • Staff Mobility for Teaching Activities (STA)
      • Staff Mobility for Training (STT)
    • Organisation of Mobility (OM)
  • Erasmus Intensive Language Courses (EILC)
  • Intensive Programmes (IP)
  • Preparatory Visits (PV)

Detailed information about Erasmus+ programme can be found on the EU Commission's Lifelong Learning Programme web page linked below:


Marmara University started Erasmus+ Programme as “pilot university” in 2002. After participation of Turkey to European Union Education and Youth Programmes as a full member with the status of European Union member candidate country on April 1st 2004, Our University applied to Erasmus University Charta to benefit from Erasmus+ Programme. Our University, which assessed by European Commission, is ranked among numbered universities that were entitled to take “Erasmus University Charta”.

Our university continued this achievement and showed a marked improvement performing student and staff mobility and applications devoted to improve the quality of the programme, as from the first year of the programme.

From 2003-2004 academic year to 2011-2012 academic year, 1402 students of our university went abroad within the frame of Erasmus Programme. 95% of these students received education within the scope of the bilateral agreements, which our university signed with 230 universities of 22 European Countries. Our outgoing students benefit from educational, cultural, and social facilities of these universities just as other students.

5% of outgoing students have the opportunity to undergo training in various institutions (firms, training centres, research application centres) by means of “mobility for placement”.

Our students, who benefit from Erasmus Student Mobility, are supported financially and receive grant in line with grant that European Comission allotted to Our University. However, students may participate in the programme without receiving grant, if they wish.

The success of Marmara University in Erasmus+ Programme can also be understood from the number of incoming students. Our University hosted 1095 European students from 2003-2004 academic year to 2011-2012 academic year within the frame of student mobility. If the exchange statistics of Center For European Union Education and Youth Programmes are examined by years, it is outstanding that Marmara University is one of the most preferred three universities.

Marmara University received 2006 European Language Award Language arranging “Erasmus Intensive Language Course” for European students.

In Marmara University, Erasmus+ Programme does not enable only students receive education abroad but also enables university staffs teach and receive training abroad. Since 2005-2006 academic year 87 instructors taught in contracted universities and gain experience.

In order to offer different possibilities and different points of views to students, our university invites instructors from contracted universities within the frame of Erasmus Programme. For this purpose, 172 instructors have taught in Our University.

This page updated by Office for International Relations and Academic Cooperation on 16.06.2021 14:16:43